AU’s Campus Wellness Director Wins National Award

Dr. Deborah Sullivan, director of Campus Wellness at Ashland University,  will be honored by the American Association of Family & Consumer Sciences (AAFCS) with a 2018 Leader Award during the 109th Annual Conference in Atlanta this June.

“I am deeply honored to be recognized as a leader by AAFCS during this stage of my career,” Sullivan stated. “I use my FCS knowledge, including human development, relationships, personal finance, consumer issues, nutrition and wellness, every day in my new role of director of Campus Wellness, particularly under the interrelated, seven dimensions of wellness that we have adopted -- Occupational, Emotional, Physical, Spiritual, Social, Environmental and Intellectual.”

The Leader Award was introduced as a part of the Association’s 75th Anniversary observance in 1984. It was established to identify and honor family and consumer sciences professionals who have made significant contributions to the field through their involvement with AAFCS. Those chosen to receive the Leader Award receives an engraved memento and a commemorative pin and the recipient’s name will be reported in AAFCS print and online communications.

The Ohio Affiliate of AAFCS nominated Sullivan for the award. Jurors selected by the AAFCS Awards and Recognition Committee review the nominations and assign points using the Evaluation Criteria.

The announcement of the award was made by current president of AAFCS Dr. Jacqueline M. Holland of Morgan State University.

“Some recurring themes in your nomination were integrity and kindness. Your outreach and encouragement to students is an inspiration. These qualities, coupled with your impressive record of leadership and service to the Ohio Affiliate, and your involvement with AAFCS, particularly in the Council for Certification and Assembly of Higher Education, make you a wonderful representative of the best of AAFCS, and highly deserving of the Leader Award,” Holland said.

In 1991, Sullivan was recognized by AAFCS as a New Achiever during the Annual Conference in Minneapolis.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content