Indians Terry Francona 2nd in AL Manager of Year Voting

The Baseball Writers Association of America today announced Cleveland Indians Manager TERRY FRANCONA finished second in the 2017 American League Manager of the Year voting.  Minnesota’s Paul Molitor (112 points) took home top honors and bested Francona (90 points) and Houston’s A.J. Hinch (56 points).




Manager                  Wins

1. Dusty Baker                           1863

2. Bruce Bochy                          1853

3. Mike Scioscia                        1570

4. Buck Showalter  1504

5. TERRY FRANCONA             1483

Francona, 58, recently guided Cleveland to its second consecutive American League Central Division title, posting a regular season record of 102-60 (.630).  It marked the first time a Francona-led team topped the 100-year mark as Cleveland posted the best record in the A.L. for the first time since the 1996 season.  This past season marked his 13th consecutive winning season as manager, the longest by any active manager and the longest since Joe Torre, 1996-2009.   2017 will also be remembered for the 22-game winning streak, August 24-Sept. 14, the longest winning streak in the 117-year history of the American League.


During his five-year stint as Indians manager, the club has qualified for the postseason play three times, finished with a winning mark in each of those seasons and owns the best record in the A.L. over the span.  He now has a 454-354 (.562) mark as Indians manager, the 3rd-highest winning pct. and 7th-highest win total in the 117-year history of the franchise.  He has accumulated a 17-year career managerial mark of 1483-1269 (.539), the fifth-highest win total among active managers.                                           

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content